top of page
Search
  • kyramarioncarol

Future up in the air (kind of)...


*** DISCLAIMER: FOR BETTER UNDERSTANDINGS, PLEASE COPY AND PASTE THE YOUTUBE VIDEO LINKS AND WATCH THOSE… YOU WILL UNDERSTAND CONTEXTS A LOT MORE BY WATCHING IF YOU COPY AND PASTE THE YOUTUBE VIDEO LINKS!!!***


In August of 2019, I started school at the University of New Mexico as a Political Science major, with a focus in International Politics.


I had some amazing memories that I will never forget.

I learned so much in my classes, and I got involved a lot politically on campus.

I learned so much about other religions, and cultures.

Even as a devout Christian, (and because I do also consider myself to be a very religious person) I grew much much more with my relationship with God.


So, (in no way, shape or form, do I want people to think that I’m not grateful for my time at UNM), but, I do think that these things need to be said.


The truth is that last school year was one of the hardest for me.

I started becoming more of a name on campus, and I quickly became a huge target due to my Christian Zionist and Conservative beliefs.


In August of 2020, I decided to go through recruitment for a sorority.

(I discussed my entire experience on The Conservative Take, and you can watch my entire experience by copying and pasting this link: https://youtu.be/ewmJTF3VUZw )


I do want to clarify that I wish the girls in my former sorority well.

But, (the truth is), is that I am still being stalked by a few of the girls in my former sorority, who still try to follow me on Instagram and who still sometimes try to send me Facebook friend requests.

It is because of this (and another reason) as to why I have decided to make my Instagram accounts private.

DISCLAIMER: LIKE I SAID, COPY AND PASTE THE YOUTUBE VIDEO LINK TO UNDERSTAND MORE OF THE CONTEXT.


As I started to become more of a “figure” on my campus, I started feeling less safe.

I was being sent death threats on Facebook and Instagram through direct messages.

My Jewish friends on campus were being threatened.

A few times while I was tabling for Students For Life, and Christians United For Israel, a few situations almost became physical had campus security not intervened multiple times.


A few students at my University began two separate “I hate Kyra Bowlby” group chats on Instagram, where they even made jokes justifying killing and beating up Zionists, and they joked around in these group chats about finding me on campus in the fall semester and beating me up.

(I also discussed this on YouTube, you can watch by copying and pasting the link: https://youtu.be/tK2EwCH2b1c ).


My previous university’s very leftist school Senate have also tried to come up with a piece of legislation banning Conservative speakers to try and come to my University. (How do you ban speech on a college campus? I’m pretty sure that in the Constitution, it doesn’t say in the First Amendment that certain speech isn’t allowed).


We are currently living in an epidemic of censorship on American higher education institutions where we are teaching students how to be professional narcissists and how to become entitled, and that anything that may go against their world views is an existential threat to their wellbeing.

(For example, when I was in a sorority, during a disciplinary committee meeting, I was told that my political beliefs put some girls in physical and emotional grave danger).


This is when my parents and I came to the decision where I will no longer be attending the University of New Mexico due to threats to my personal safety.

I have also decided to take a break and not attend classes in the Fall, as I will be in the middle of figuring out my next steps in life, and where I would be finishing my College Education.


I will also be working on finding Internships, work, and I need time to figure out what I want to do.


This past year was very hard for me (even traumatic), but I no longer feel safe attending my previous University.


I am optimistic for the future, but I do think that my time at the University of New Mexico has come to a respectful close.

I am grateful for the memories I have made there, (some) of the material that I have gotten from my classes, the people I have met, and the organizations that have been there for me throughout the hard times as well (such as Turning Point USA, YAF, College Republicans, CAMERA on Campus, Students For Life, PRAGERForce, Prager U, Students Supporting Israel, ZOA, and the Trump Re-election campaign.)


But, I am also excited for future opportunities as well, and I can’t wait to see what the future may hold).



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What This Election May Mean For The Republican Party...

If you were like me, then you probably watched Election night for the Virginia and New Jersey Governor race pretty closely. And, while the New Jersey Governor race still hasn't announced a clear victo

bottom of page