top of page
Search
  • kyramarioncarol

Why Reading Is So Important


"Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world"

- Voltaire


"The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page"

- St. Augustine

I have honestly loved reading since I was a little girl… it’s honestly just something that I have loved dearly.


Growing up, I lived pretty close to the library and I also lived pretty close to Barnes & Noble.


I remember as a little kid my parents would take me to the library and bookstore and I would spend hours looking at all of the books.


Then, I remember my mom taking me to the Starbucks inside of the Barnes & Noble and I would just sit there with her with my new books and I would just read.


Reading has always been a pretty important part of my life, and it is also super important for so many people around the world globally.

I absolutely LOVE meeting other readers, and I love discussing and talking about books any chance I can possibly get.


Here are some reasons as to why reading is so important. (And, who knows, maybe this article will inspire you to pick up a book!):


  1. Reading expands the mind


Reading can help expand the mind, and it can help individuals basically come up with new ideas. Scientifically as well too, reading has been proven to keep our minds healthy, young, and sharp with scientific studies ALSO showing that reading can help prevent alzheimer's disease.


2. Reading allows for creative thinking...


Reading allows for basic and creative thinking.

Reading can basically try and inspire you when you’re bored, it can help you feel better or it can distract you from the life you are currently living too (if that makes sense). Reading can also give you that very needed and basic pick me up without having to search too far for it.

Reading also helps get the creative side of your brain thinking (unlike television).


3. Reading helps improve concentration

Reading can basically train our mind how to focus properly, and reading can also help take us out of that “multitasking” mindset that we may CONSTANTLY be in.


4. Reading can expand your vocabulary and writing and grammar skills.

5. Reading enhances your critical and analytical thinking skills.

It’s important to note that reading can enhance and broaden your thinking, and reading can also sharpen your mind as well.








6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What This Election May Mean For The Republican Party...

If you were like me, then you probably watched Election night for the Virginia and New Jersey Governor race pretty closely. And, while the New Jersey Governor race still hasn't announced a clear victo

bottom of page