top of page
Search
  • kyramarioncarol

Change my mind: Why you should stop telling me that I'm "brainwashed"


Growing up, my family was never really super political.


Instead, as a young girl I remember watching Presidential/Vice Presidential debates, and my parents never really talked about politics, (even during elections).

Even when I asked my parents about political subjects, when I was up to the age of 12, my parents would never answer respectfully, and instead they would tell me, "do your research".


That was when I began to blossom into the political world... and, it also wasn't until I found different political quizzes, and that was when I found out that I was the big bad bad word known in society today as "Conservative".


The truth is, is that when I was little, I honestly didn't really even know my parents political affiliations. Once or twice maybe during the 2012 election, they would (once in a while) talk about Romney, but I had no idea he was a Republican... (I really didn't really know what the difference WAS between a Democrat or Republican).


In my Sophomore year of High School, (and since then), I used to watch an hour of Fox and then about an hour of CNN each day so that I could do research on what was happening current events wise in our country, and I realized that (even at a young age), the news anchors and people who were featured on CNN were so angry to live in America, and I never understood why. (I also could only basically watch about an hour of CNN a day until I started to feel angry or aggressive like I was about to maybe possibly punch a wall or something).


It also was not until I became older when I finally basically find out that my parents were Republican/Conservatives, and for that I am grateful because it taught me to research things for my self.


SO... to all of the people who call me "brainwashed", then maybe you should think again.

I also really don't understand why a young women (like myself) who thinks for herself is so scary to you, (but what do I know I guess).






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What This Election May Mean For The Republican Party...

If you were like me, then you probably watched Election night for the Virginia and New Jersey Governor race pretty closely. And, while the New Jersey Governor race still hasn't announced a clear victo

bottom of page